Vessel For Honor

God’s original design for me was to be a vessel of honor and glory for His name. I was hand carved and painted to reflect the beauty of the Lord. But, I decided to seek my own glory instead, because I wanted a different design for myself. I put clay over top of myself to try and cover the design and reshape myself into what I want, but it just turned ugly as it dried. As my clay hardened I realized I was just coated with sin, and no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t scrape it off myself. Only the blood of Christ can wash me and bring me back the things I was meant to be before.

“But in a great house, there are not only vessels of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay, some for honor and some for dishonor. Therefore if anyone cleanses himself from the latter, He will be a vessel for honor, sanctified and useful for the master for every good work.” 2nd Timothy 2:20-21

These are vessels in a great house. This isn’t a contrast of the people within and without the church, but those that are a part of it. There are those who are saved and cleansed, and there are those who are saved, cleansed, then scrubbed to be used for Honor. Not everyone is willing to be scrubbed. They aren’t a vessel of honor, but a vessel for honor to be used by the master.

Will I subject myself to be scrubbed clean enough to be filled with the spirit, or will I stay living a life filled with myself?

Leave a Reply

