The Weight of the Word

2 Timothy 3:16-17

16 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, 17 that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

Doctrine = A statement of principals or policy.

Reproof = disapproval; to criticize or to admonish.

Correction = the process of making right; an amount adjusted.

Instruct = to educate or edify, to order or direct firmly; to discharge the duties of an instructor; guidance, the imparting of knowledge, or a direct order.

Not to just throw definitions at you, but these words and explanations shined a new light on these verses for me.

The word of the Lord is profitable to (doctrine) base your life off of, (reproof) receive stern correction with confidence, (correction) adjust your compass off of, and (instruction) teach yourself and others the truth.

These definitions really challanged me ask if the word of God is having the affect in my life that it should? Am I reading the bible with the purpose of 1) being moved by it and 2) moving myself based off of what the spirit shows me Or, am I reading it to read it and just hoping something sticks. Am I expecting to be corrected and re-directed (Habakkuk 2:1) or is my heart hard and proud as I begin.

Leave a Reply

